Why So Curious?

Think about this for a second, have you ever heard a noise outside like a ‘crash’ or a ‘snap’ and got up thinking “what in the world was that” and gone to have a look out the window? Yep pretty sure most of us have been there, or when the supermarket has a button where the eggs are and you just HAVE to press it to see what it does? I sure have.

Curiosity is when you are drawn to particular things that you find interesting and feel a need to know more about. “We feel alive and engaged, more capable of embracing opportunities, making connections, and experiencing moments of insight and meaning.”(Kashdan, 2017)

When curiosity hits you, there is the possibility of getting stuck in the moment of needing to know, hours could go by just from researching and trying to find out all you can about that particular interest. You start at one source and before you know it you have an endless supply of information on that thing that struck your curiosity.

work computer monkey mouse working

Quick introduction to myself, my name is Shay. I am a lover of animals, the ocean, food and music. I find cats incredibly cute and hilarious hence the first gif. I am a curious individual and like to try quite a range of things, before this degree i dipped my toes in law, psychology and primary teaching all of which did not grasp my full undivided attention, unlike communications and media.

So my curiosity regarding media began in 2012 when I was in TAFE doing a tertiary preparation course and they gave us a taste of a subject called screen and media. I absolutely loved it, once i obtained my certificate i began to look into other courses that were related and found a diploma of screen and media. Whilst doing the diploma my curiosity only grew with more things sparking my interest and feeding my mind which led me to where I am now. I have learnt a great deal of things over that period of time, yet I am still eager as ever to turn curiosity into knowledge.

Anon, 2017. Curious GIF – Find & Share on GIPHY. [online] GIPHY. Available at: http://giphy.com/gifs/curious-BLoLh42Wota00 [Accessed 8 Mar. 2017].

Anon, 2017. Work GIF – Find & Share on GIPHY. [online] GIPHY. Available at: http://giphy.com/gifs/next-pFwRzOLfuGHok [Accessed 8 Mar. 2017].

Kashdan, T., 2017. The Power of Curiosity. [online] Experience Life. Available at: https://experiencelife.com/article/the-power-of-curiosity/ [Accessed 8 Mar. 2017].

Leave a Reply

